English Information about Stuttgart Peace Price

The Stuttgart Peace Prize is awarded annually by the non governmental organization „Die AnStifter“ (the Instigators) to individuals or projects that have made a special contribution to peace, justice and a caring world and is endowed with 5,000 euros. 2015 will mark the thirteenth award ceremony.

The winner is elected democratically. Those who have made donations to Die AnStifter are eligible to vote. Voting is held in spring and the awards ceremony is usually in November.

List of laureates:
2015: Guisi Nicolini, Mayor of Lampedusa and Linosa
2014: Edward Snowden, whistleblower
2013: Enio Mancini and Enrico Pieri, survivors of the Sant’Anna di Stazzema massacre in Tuscany, Italy, who fight for justice and international understanding.
2012: „Aktion Aufschrei – Stoppt den Waffenhandel!“ („Action Outcry – Stop the Arms Trade!“, Germany)
2011: Fatuma Abulkadir Adan (Kenya) who combines soccer and emancipation („We aim to score not to kill.“)
2010: Werner Baumgarten (Germany), pastor for asylum seekers and refugees
2009: Susan Bardosz and Arpad Pusztai (Hungary), scientists and critics of genetic engineering
2008: POEMA (Germany/Brazil), program against poverty and for protection of the environment in the Amazon Rainforest
2007: Agustín Aguayo (USA), combat medic whose application for conscientious objector status was denied forcing him to desert
2006: Wolfram Hülsemann (Germany), Leiter des Brandenburgischen Institutes für Gemeinwesenberatung, Demokratie und Integration (director of the NGO Brandenburg Institute for Community Guidance, Democracy and Integration)
2005: Giuliana Sgrena, Italian journalist who was kidnapped in Iraq
2004: Lama Tarayra, Palestinian pupil, for her work in reconciling Israeli and Palestinian youth
2003: Komitee für Grundrechte und Demokratie (Committee for Basic Liberties and Democracy, Germany)

Schreibe einen Kommentar

Deine E-Mail-Adresse wird nicht veröffentlicht. Erforderliche Felder sind mit * markiert